List of books I started but could not complete

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov It’s all very recent.  It’s not because I did not like the book.  It’s not that I’ve abandoned those books and I will never pick them up again.  It was just because I felt too lazy to keep on reading.

I am making this list just to make myself feel “ashamed” about not being consistent with my reading so that I would perhaps read some of them.  It is also to make a point that I should not start a new book  unless I finish the one in hand.  I know not all books are cover-to-cover read, but still I wish I could make it a more disciplined thing.

Here, the list:

  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. It was a second read this time.  I’ve read this years ago in Marathi translation.  This time, I wanted to give it a fresh try.
  • The Tin Drum by Gunter Grass
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger.  Again, this was a second try.  Last time, I had finished half of it.  This time, it was just one chapter.
  • Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally.  I started this after watching the movie.  Later, I thought I should reading some standard book on this topic, so I left this one and picked up the next one.
  • The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William Shirer.  This was really going good.  It’s about 2000 pages (including ~400 pages of notes and references.  I had already finished 100+ pages when I left it.
  • That’s it! I think I need to gather up myself and start doing one thing at a time.
  • P.S.  Plan of action for now is to start with the “Collected Stories” by Gabriel Garcia Marqez.  Again, this I had started and left after reading one story (which was actually so good, about a boy who dies at the age of 3 and keeps on growing in his coffin etc).  I’m not being able to finish a novel, I will try to finish a story at least.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “List of books I started but could not complete”

  1. junaidmakbool Says:

    Your list is short. Mine runs into pages.
    And mine is called list of books I have got and not read.

What are you thinking?

