Enjoying “Chikni Chameli”

Okay!  I must change some of my notions about myself.  For example, I am a damn serious guy.  It’s a million dollar question for me to have a simple smile.

Chikni Chameli with her pawwaFor example, it is against my reputation to enjoy popular music.

For example, I prefer reading nonfiction over fiction, and when I read fiction, I cannot read something lower in ranks than Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Kafka, and Camus.

For example, it’s my natural tendency to be sad.  For example, I am emotionally weak and too much labile.

No, I don’t mean that I want to give up whatever I have earned bit by bit to this date.

I want to be like you.  You, who at a moment show me (in practical) the suggestive gestures of Chikni Chameli, and the very next moment, talk to me about the intricacies of emotional status of Tolstoy in between the years of War and Peace and Anna Karenina.

I’m enjoying Chikni Chameli :-)

Related Posts:

  1. Spiritual songs of A. R. Rahman
  2. Of the dark days of Bollywood music
  3. A musical ride:  A journey from Amir Khusro to A. R. Rahman

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Enjoying “Chikni Chameli””

  1. Miss Audrey Says:

    Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Kafka, and Camus…. 4 of my favorite writers in the same post. :) You have good taste in fiction books, my friend :)

    • Ganesh Dhamodkar Says:

      Thanks Miss Audrey for calling me a friend, honored!! :-) Yeah, I read too little of fiction. I don’t know the languages these writers wrote in. English is a third language after Marathi and Hindi. I have read half of Anna Karenina, halves of Crime and Punishment and Brother Karamazov, half of The Metamorphosis, and half of The Stranger (all in English translations)! Wish I will finish them off some time :-)

  2. Adil Says:

    The song is ok, has a nice desi touch but the video is … How do i put it … BAKWAS! Lolz

What are you thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

