The door to God: An Osho perspective

I’m not a fan of Osho
, still I like reading him. I like his rebellious, yet creative, perspective of looking at things. He tells greatest of the hidden truths in simplest of the words, often with the help of some day-to-day life stories.

Last night, as I was going to bed, I took the Osho book and opened a random page. I had not read anything in the last many days and I wanted to start with something lighter-thus started with Osho.

Once the prime minister of a king dies. The king decides to chose a new prime minister for him through an open contest. From the hundreds of contestants, he short-lists the three most eligible men for a final test. The king let the three go home with a notice to come back the next day.

All excited about their fate next day, the three short-listed candidates hear a rumor that the king has made a cryptogenic lock with the help of the most genius of his mathematicians, and the king is going to chose the one as his prime minister who will open the lock earliest. The two of them get very excited listening to this and start reading as much about cryptology and the science of locks as they can in a night. They stay awake all the night to study cryptology. The third one stays cool and takes some rest at home. The other two just laugh at him that he is wasting such a great opportunity to change his life.

The next day, the king summons them. They find the rumor was indeed a truth as the king locks them in a room and tell them about the challenge to come out of the room. The intelligent two quickly start to analyze the lock, it’s shape, design, signs on it, etc. So engaged they become in their exercises that they don’t even notice that their third colleague had just pushed the door and left out. They notice it only after the king arrives with the third friend and ask these two to stop their efforts as he has chosen his prime minister.

And Osho comments on the story: So obsessed we get about finding the answers that we don’t even bother to check what really the problem is. We put our focus on deciphering the lock rather opening the door. The door to God is just open like this, open to all, and we stay at the door deciphering the lock engaged in the scriptures.

P.S. I am thinking whether the third one was really right with his not being prepared. What if the door had really been locked?

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “The door to God: An Osho perspective”

  1. Gaurav Tiwari Says:

    I remember, in my last exam, I was sure that a question will come to our paper and I had prepared for it a lot. When I recieved the paper the question was almost same in wording but different in meaning. I did not realise on this fact and started writing my answer (which I had learned by heart). After I finished my answer, I had a relook at my answer and then the question. Shocked!! The problem was demanding for another answer. I had wasted 20 precious minutes and at last I became neccessary to cut my answer.
    Comfort is not a good think, nor very much thinking and hardwork.

  2. mayur hulsar Says:

    Its the perspective of the story teller, really… Maybe in real life things could b so much conflicting or confusing.

    When I was kid, I had asked my granny that who’s the bad guy in a particular movie which was being played on the TV screen. Being a kid, it was enough to know that this one is the bad guy. But as I grew I realized that finding a bad guy is not that easy as it is in movies…

  3. I would rather not… « The Blog of Reflections Says:

    […] The Blog of Reflections My Reflections on Love, Life, and Literature!! « The door to God: An Osho perspective […]

What are you thinking?

