Books, internet, and a giant wheel? It’s really random!!

I love books, I love the feel they give me while reading, it cannot be felt such while reading books on screen.  It’s fine when we cannot get hard copies, may be the book is rare, or too costly, or just you don’t want to buy it, but still there is nothing like reading a book, in printed characters, on paper.

Definitely, my net habits have affected my reading a lot.  I stay online almost 12-13 hours a day everyday, may be for work, and then for my personal use too, blogging, random surfing, social networking, uploading photos; reading has taken a back seat, it’s unfortunate, really!

A giant wheel at Dhantoli, Nagpur

I had been to a book exhibition at Shankar Nagar today; brought a novel by Sane Guruji Ramacha shela (रामाचा शेला); I really wanted to read something by him other than Shyamchi aai (श्यामची आई).  At this moment, I should have been reading the book, in print.  I am instead tuck-tucking here.

On a different note, sharing the picture of a giant wheel I pic’ed last Sunday in Dhantoli, Nagpur.  I didn’t get a chance to upload it earlier.  Giant wheels look good only from a distance.  I am afraid of even the thought of sitting in it.  So, I have look at it, from a distance.

N.B. Clicking on the giant wheel will take you to Panoramio photo page, if you are interested in exactly where the photo was taken, to be precise, it was taken at 21° 8′ 5.88″ N  79° 5′ 4.24″ E.  Good Night 🙂

Related Posts:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Books, internet, and a giant wheel? It’s really random!!”

  1. mayur hulsar Says:

    i like reading books too. i never feel that i m reading a book. Instead I think that the book itself is telling the story.

    and similarly i m not able to get time to read books thanks to the 2nd idiot box that is my computer… that is why I then use restrooms to read books. I think that is the only place where I can sit for ten minutes, without looking at monitor.:P But after buying a smartphone even that is changing now!!!!

  2. Miss Audrey Says:

    I feel the same about books! I love them! Maybe you should try to make some ritual for reading at least 15 minutes per day from a normal book. 😀
    Beautiful photo!

    • Ganesh Dhamodkar Says:

      Yes, I will try to make it a habit to read at least a chapter before I go to bed, but I’ll really have to make great efforts for that — I don’t leave my Mobile Twitter literally until I fall asleep. Still, I will try.

      And I’m really humbled you found my blog worth subscribing. Wish I can be as honest in my writing as you are 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Me Says:

    Thanks for the like on my reflections post! I hopped over to see what your blog is about. I like it. This post especially. It is so true, computers have changed my reading habits as well. I used to be able to devour a book in one or two sittings. Now it takes forever. I read more online than I do physical texts, but I’m trying to get back into the traditional way of reading. The internet is both a blessing and a curse, is it not?

    • Ganesh Dhamodkar Says:

      Indeed, internet has spoiled a lot of our traditional reading habits, but internet is more of a blessing than a curse, isn’t it? Otherwise, there would be no way to share our thoughts (writing a book and publishing takes a great deal, blogging a nice way).

      Thanks for hopping over here 🙂

  4. chetanakarte Says:

    Hi Ganesh,

    Now you can read Marathi Book Shyamchi aai (श्यामची आई) on your phone.
    Please take a look… http://sahityachintan.com/marathi-book-reader/shyamchi-aai-by-sane-guruji.html

  5. found on yahoo Says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to
    write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Kudos!

What are you thinking?

