Stubbing on Wikipedia

I have not been working on any major projects on Wikipedia for the last few months.  I have not created a single full-fledged article after a couple of “Did you know?” articles about an year ago.  Life is getting more and more demanding and I can find almost no time to do the research it needs to create a good article on Wikipedia.  So, I have just been stubbing.

Stub is a little Wikipedia article that contains only very basic information.  It may consist of just a line or two about what really the object in question is.  A good stub is expected to contain some basic information with proper references.  It can further be expanded in a full-length article with community collaboration.

I have written about four stubs around the last month, all of them just a few-liners.  I created them just because I thought the topic important enough to be covered on Wikipedia.  New users usually hesitate starting a new article; I wanted to make these stubs available for them so that they can add information to it.

My first stub was about Maharashtra State Highway 196.  This state highway passes via my village Manegaon.  I just wanted to create this article as a part of major project covering all the highways in India.

The next stub was about Marathi author Sadanand Deshmukh.  He was awarded with Sahitya Akademi award in 2004 for his novel Baromas (बारोमास).  This article was a long-due.  He is certainly a notable personality and there is almost no information available about him on net.  He belongs to the same district of Maharashtra that I do.  I had very little biographic information about him, so I was waiting for someone to write an article about him, but as nobody did it, I had to take initiative and create a stub.  The article is still in a stub state and I have no means to find any information about him other than getting one of his books and find some author info, so it is pending.

Nag River was the article that I was really expecting someone to start.  It is a tiny river, rather a stream that drains the garbage and sewage water out of Nagpur.  But it certainly has an encyclopedic value as it provides the etymology to the City of Nagpur.  According to a theory, Nagpur is named so because of this river (there is also another theory proposed by Dr. Ambedkar that the river and the city are named after Naga people who settled here in the distant history).  The Wikipedia article about Nagpur has just mentioned this river, so I took the opportunity to create a separate article about it.  It still lacks a lot of information, but still I am expecting some expert to work on it, or I will have to find some time to do some research.  Just googling will not work here, I will have to find printed resources.

The fourth article Machchhindrakhed (मच्छिंद्रखेड) is just a little village in Buldhana district, famous in the locality for the aasara devi temple there.  I had my first family trip there as a kid.  Again, this article was created as a part of better coverage of local knowledge on the world wide web.

So my overall activity on Wikipedia is limited to stubbing only nowadays.  Hope I can get some leisure to do something more!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Stubbing on Wikipedia”

  1. Origin of Nag River! « The Blog of Reflections Says:

    […] of a sage.”  They may have their reasons to say that, but I wanted to find the origin of Nag River for my Wikipedia article.  I tried to explore the city with Google Earth going back through […]

  2. Getting started with Zemanta « The Blog of Reflections Says:

    […] Stubbing on Wikipedia (blogofreflections.wordpress.com) […]

  3. …Garbage Out… « Sue Ann Porter Says:

    […] Stubbing on Wikipedia (blogofreflections.wordpress.com)[…]

What are you thinking?

