On the dawn of Sunday morning

It’s the wonderful time of Sunday morning, around 4 a.m., and I am already awake for more than an hour now.  People usually tend to sleep late on holidays; I habitually get up early on Sundays; I want it to be a long long day.

There were times when I had a whole lot of things to do on Sundays and I used to start getting anxious about them from Saturday nights only!  I will probably find something to do now as well.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “On the dawn of Sunday morning”

  1. Earthdrifter Says:

    As long as I get enough sleep, I love to get up super early. I find that I’m more motivated and productive in the morning. We as humans like other earthlings/animals, were designed to go to sleep in the evening and get up at the crack of dawn. As technology has become more sophisticated, since the start of electricity, we’ve changed. With an internet connection it’s sometimes tough for me to go to sleep early.

    • Ganesh Dhamodkar Says:

      Oh! We humans, like other animals, were designated to sleep in the evening and wake up at dawn :-) I had never had this thought. Thanks for making it a point. We sometimes forget that we are animals too!

  2. versa kay Says:

    I knew the times in my early childhood, only a few houses in a town had electricity. Womenfolk used to clean up the kerosene lamps by about five in the evening, finish cooking in the open by about six, eat food by six thirty or seven, talk a little about this and that, lie on nivar or string cots beneath the sky looking at tnhe stars and fall asleep by eight or nine, to wake up by five in tge evening.

    • Ganesh Dhamodkar Says:

      Our family shifted from a town to a village in 1994. There was no electricity in the village then and we too had had the kerosene lamo days. I had to move out in 1997 for education and am out since then, but my parents still live there, and though they have electricity there now, they still believe in “early to sleep, early to rise.” :-)

What are you thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

